So my friend saw this movie 7 months ago and told me it was spectacular.  Another friend saw it 3 weeks ago and said it was good.  As some of you know, (and some don’t) Scott Pilgrim was a big fat box office FAIL this past weekend.  Made for $60 million and with an opening weekend of $10.6 million you don’t really need a calculator to see that the numbers just don’t add up.  But how could it have been better?

C'mon Scott, you've never going to get the girl playing a BASS guitar. Chicks dig AXE Men. This applies to both the body spray and the choice of string instrument!

Making it better:

1.  Too repetitive.  By about the 3rd evil ex I’m pretty tired of the whole rinse and repeat cycle.  Granted the video game stylization is awesome but is it awesome enough to keep everyone entertained for it’s 112 minutes?  I was, others weren’t.

2.  Ramona Flowers.  I think the simple fact is that she’s not that likable.  When does the audience really get to see her softer side or sympathize with why Scott’s so in love with her.  Answer:  They don’t.  Scott’s other girlfriend, Knives Chau, at least has a youthful naiveté that stirs empathy in the viewer.  Ramona maybe should have considered another movie…

After I photoshopped this I realized it should say...Ramona and...Ramona... Whoops.

3.  A little too ‘hip.’  I felt like other Micheal Cera vehicles struck a good balance of hip and cool.  Superbad, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Juno.  This movie however had parts that were so stylized and dialogue that whizzed by so fast I wasn’t quite sure what was going on.  Am I stupid?  Maybe.  But my 135 on a completely unscientific online IQ test would lead me to believe otherwise.

Yes, this is the new definition of cool and personally I'm 100% fine with that. P.s. Is that shirt made from early 90's wallpaper?

4.  Marketing.  I think that someone on the marketing team at XYZ Marketing Company really needs quick slap.  Why not play up the video game aspect of the movie more???  You probably could have stolen at least a few Mill off the gamers that shelled out cash for The Expendables.  Maybe they could have even combined the two movies…

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The Expendables: This time "The Blowout" is more than just a haircut!

Despite what I just said I really did enjoy the movie and would recommend seeing it in the theaters.  It’s fun and I haven’t really seen anything quite like it.  It unfortunate that films are always hailed or panned by how they perform their opening weekend.  Hopefully Scott Pilgrim can take a lesson from it’s Sly Stallone competition, not give up and come out swinging in the second round.

Michael Cera gives the lead singer a little head between songs.

We didn't start the fire...Scott Pilgrim did.

So, now you tell me.  What would you have done differently to make this movie better than it already was?

